NFL Admits Error in Touchdown Given to Williams

The NFL acknowledged Monday that officials erroneously awarded the Panthers a first-quarter touchdown during their win Sunday over the Redskins when one of them inadvertently blew his whistle.

The play should have been ruled dead at the Redskins 17-yard line, according to a written statement by the league. The Panthers would have had the option of replaying that down or taking the play as it stood at the 17-yard line.

“By rule, Carolina should have been given a choice of putting the ball in play where [running back DeAngelo] Williams was ruled to have stepped out of bounds–1st-and-10 from the Washington 17 yard-line–or replaying the down–1st-and-10 from the Washington 30,” the league’s written statement said.

The NFL’s statement said “the Panthers were incorrectly awarded a touchdown following an inadvertent whistle.”

The inadvertent whistle—and the spot where the ball should have been placed afterward—was not subject to instant replay review under the NFL’s replay rules, according to the league’s statement.

The inadvertent whistle came on a 30-yard touchdown run by Williams.


Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Panthers Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to del.icio.us  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply

Write For Us